Travel rule changes post-Brexit: Brits expected to register for new visa waiver programme



East Brexit travel rules have been in effect since January 1, 2021. But there is more restrictions set to be placed on British traveler since the UK left them EU.

Currently, UK nationals must comply with new passport rules and entry requirements, but later this year they will also be expected to register for a new visa waiver program before entering a country Schengen zone.

Since leaving the EU UK nationals must now follow the same rules as non-EU nationalswhich tend to be stricter.

Holidaymakers must first ensure that they meet the new requirements for entering EU countries such as France and Spain Travel– or they could be turned away at the airport.

Find out below about the current and upcoming travel restrictions applicable to UK nationals.

Passing process is changing

UK nationals traveling to an EU country must ensure their passports comply with the new entry requirements. Passports must be:

  • Issued less than 10 years before your entry.
  • Valid for at least three months after the date you intend to leave the country.

Entry requirements for the Schengen area

Holidaymakers from the UK visiting a country in the Schengen Area (a group of 26 European countries that have abolished passport and border controls at their shared borders) may need to present additional documents upon entry into the country.

UK individuals may need to prove that they have:

ETIAS program

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System and is a new program that will come into effect from November 2023.

Individuals from eligible countries (who do not require a visa to enter the Schengen area, including the UK) must register with ETIAS for a visa waiver prior to travel.

Travelers must apply for the ETIAS online with a valid passport, email address and a debit or credit card to pay the application fee, which may vary from country to country.

British nationals are also required to provide their personal details and answer safety and health questions. The application is checked in several security databases.

countries in the Schengen area

The Schengen Area countries are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

ETIAS Eligible Countries

The ETIAS Eligible Countries are Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macau, North Macedonia, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St. Vincent, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Venezuela.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *